It is difficult to identify long words (Text box too small)

I am studying the course “Learn Italian Grammar.” There are long names of numbers in Italian when it comes to thousands and more. The interface of the application does not facilitate to point to the right answer. For example, what box should I click in the example below? I think, either the boxes should be wider or have pop-ups when hovering a box.
longnames

2 Likes

As a variant, the possible answers could be arranged in one column of wide boxes.

I’ve moved your topic to the appropriate subforum and amended the tags.

@MemriseSupport, @MemriseMatty: this is a long standing and very annoying bug - any insight on when we can expect you guys to provide a fix?

3 Likes

Thanks, Olaf

Please can you give a link to the course @yshindin,

I agree with you - it is a common problem which I have mentioned years ago.

I have encountered this before and I think the cure is to zoom out (ie go to 80%) screen size (on the web), which reduces the font and shows the whole word.

PS the only bodge fix is to wrongly hyphenate the words, I think,

2 Likes

@DW7, here is a link I use
https://www.memrise.com/course/155982/learn-italian-grammar/garden/speed_review/?recommendation_id=8fcac724-3241-4997-b88e-4dd5a2788183&source_element=scb&source_screen=dashboard

1 Like

And on Decks (Level 28):

PS
I’ve now added English commas (as visible alternatives) as well as the existing Continental Full stops between thousands (ie 10.000 with 10000 and 10,000 as alternatives).

1 Like

Got this with Four alternatives.

Thanks, DW7. Maybe, your developers could expand a box when you hover over it if there is a long word in the box. If necessary, display a box with a very long word on a new line in the window.

1 Like

Maybe, your developers

Just for clarification I am only a user/ creator/ contributor like you, so hopefully @MemriseSupport can have a look at it. .