How to stop the cheating -- some thoughts for the Memrise staff

I wanted to submit a post to address the cheating that I believe is occurring on the app. Some explanation of where I’m coming from:

• I am a language professor in the United States and use your courses in my classrooms (I give my students extra credit bonuses if they use your website). I believe you have the best product out there as far as finding a balance between gamifying learning and using self-generated visual mnemonics.
  • I have found, from my students, that it is fairly easy to create a bot to answer the 5000 word review courses automatically – for example, see the following Github page where a user coded a Memrise cheat bot: GitHub - Flying-Toast/memrise-cheat: I didn't want to do my French homework today, so I made a bot to do it for me.
  • As a more personal example – I teach Spanish and was going through the the “First 5000 words of Spanish” course. Once I finished the course, the only option to continue to review was on Speed Review mode through the desktop interface (either on my Mac or by using Safari to access the desktop interface on an iPhone; Speed Review is not available on the app after completely finishing the course). I don’t have an Android, so I am not sure what is possible with their interface, though it’s presumably the same as iOS.
  • While I was doing so, I noticed a user by the name of mariapo that I strongly suspect is cheating. The reason for my suspicion is as follows:
  1. I was completing the rounds with 100% accuracy (100 words out of 100) and as fast as humanly possible (I have been on Memrise for several years and can go extremely fast)
  2. While I was doing this, I had an opportunity to quiz side-by-side with mariapo and notice their pattern of point accumulation.